College of Humanities English Department Awards

Awarded by College of Humanities CSUN
Categories are  Scholarship  tagged  Graduate Students /  Literature /  Need Based /  Merit Based /  Masters Degree
Scholarship deadline



$500 - $4,000

Awards Offered




Is this a No Essay scholarship?



The department offers a number of prizes for students who excel in their academic work. The following are the Scholarships offered by the Department for English for Graduate students.

The Peterson Morley Award: An award of $1,000 will be bestowed annually upon a student currently enrolled as an English major at CSUN in either the undergraduate or graduate program, who plans to enter the teaching profession at any level. Applications from students who demonstrate financial need to complete their studies will be given particular attention.

The Richard Lid and Helen Lodge Scholarship: An award of $500 will be given to a graduate student enrolled in English and/or Secondary English Education, to help pay fees for graduate work. The applicant must concurrently be teaching in middle school or secondary school or be on sabbatical.

The Thomas Matthew Magness Graduate Memorial Fund: In memory of Thomas Matthew Magness, a former English graduate student, this award will provide $1,000 tuition remission for a first-semester graduate student in the English MA program. Selection will be based on academic merit.

The Professor Mitchell Marcus Prize in English: A prize of $4,000 will be awarded each spring semester to the graduate student whose achievements in the study of English are considered by the faculty as the most distinguished.

The Mahlon Gaumer Award: An award of $500 will be given to a graduate student who is the author of the best critical essay on English literature—with emphasis on the use of language.

The Harry Finestone Award in English: An award of $750 will be presented each year to the graduate student with the most distinguished essay in the study of literature completed in the department’s capstone graduate seminar, ENGL 698D. The essay must be nominated by the instructor of the course in which the student was enrolled. The Awards Committee will evaluate the nominated essays on the following criteria: originality of concept; potential scholarly impact; logical, effective organization; and clarity, coherence, and elegance of prose style.

The Irene Clark Scholarship for Rhetoric and Composition: The Irene Clark Scholarship for Rhetoric and Composition awards $500 for a paper written by a Department of English graduate student on a topic in rhetoric and composition.

The Angeline Olliff Memorial Scholarship: A $250 scholarship will be awarded in spring to a Rhetoric and Composition graduate student or a Teaching Associate in any specialization (creative writing, literature, rhetoric, and composition).

The Deborah Averill Award in Creative Writing: An award of $250 will be awarded to a female student who has had more than a one-year absence from school and returned after overcoming obstacles. The applicant, in either the undergraduate or graduate creative writing program, will submit a creative writing sample not to exceed ten pages (in any genre), as well as a 1-2 page personal statement.

Education Level

Bachelor degree



Application Start Date

No Information Available

Eligibility Criteria

US citizen

  • Applicant must have been registered in the English graduate program.
  • Minimum 3.25 GPA is required.
  • Applicant must have been registered for at least 6 units in the subsequent semester.

  • Application form
  • Unofficial transcript with GPA
  • A letter explaining the applicant’s interests in and concerns about teaching English Language Arts
  • Letter of recommendation from a CSUN faculty member familiar with the applicant’s academic work.
  • A personal statement
  • A writing sample
  • Essay



    University Name

    California State University-Northridge


    English Language and Literature

    Field of Study

    English Language, Literature and Cultural Studies




    Scholarship Frequency





    Not Applicable

    Outside State Residents eligible


    International Students eligible


    Online Master Programs eligible